The first couple of tests have been interesting, but quite a lot harder than I thought. Making them in After Effects is a long and difficult process. But it looks really good. I need to build a sort of front so the screens are the same size and edit each piece as a scene and stick it together after.

In my second test everything went wrong, but that's not a bad thing. I found that the actors all said the wrong things and spoke over eachother or either straight away or after an awkward pause. This reflected FB in a better way I felt, a jumble of mess and noise, everyone saying things but not really saying anything worth listening to.
This piece needs to be a lot faster in pace, maybe a minute at the most, and very quickly go from a call/response piece to a mad mess of sounds.
I wish this piece had not taken so long to out together, it's boring and slow, even when they characters start to talk over eachother. I might do another few tests with it but I don't think I will carry on down this route with my project.
Comp 1 1
Here I played around with just simple Facebook phrases 'I Like This'. Although I don't think the piece is very good (it's just a test after all) after watching it on a loop for about 5 minutes, I did find that I liked it. So it has become a simple act of persuasion, which makes me like it a bit more.

If it was going to work it would have to be more people and instead of cutting and pasting I would have to time everyone's speech and have it all on one film roll instead of cutting it up.



Leave a Reply.