I went back to FB mostly for photos of things and for the Events, because I'm such an organised person i found it handy to use to find out what i was meant to be at. However this can be done without Facebook if we pay attention i think.

My friend did better than me and has been off facebook for over a year.

2 of the points she made really stood out:
  • I found that the vast majority of things on Facebook were simply not interesting to me, and it was frustrating sifting through so much irrelevant content to read the few posts I was interested in; especially as, for me personally, there wasn’t a core group of a few people who posted good content, but quite a mix.
  • I became quite uncomfortable with how many people I was artificially connected to- people who interest me are people I stay in contact with outside of Facebook.

So we really are just sitting, staring and surfing, trying to find something amongst all the status updates and photos of peoples babies etc...
Also the idea of "friends" and adding people you meet once and never see again, yet because of Facebook you remain friends.
I got drunk a few weeks ago and added a London art student named Charles Mason. No idea who he is but he accepted, he even accepted that we are 'Close Friends' which means our status updates are received personally. We've never met or even spoken, so it's weird that he accepted me.So I really like this idea that we're just surfing... aimlessly... through all the junk we put on there...



Leave a Reply.