My housemate worked on some sound FX for me, we tried it with an echo over the voice but it sounded too weird and loud, so we cut it to just a lot of fuzz when Jame speaks, you can still here him but it is far more invasive than him just speaking.
Video with echo ^^^^
I have had a lot of trouble with my pother sounds.  used a RODE NTG-2 microphone with a Cannon X5 D600 camera and the sound quality was awful, even in a closed studio it picked up all the background noise it could (even what sounds like a breeze which is impossible) so the actress is practically inaudible. This has ruined the part of my installation where two screens each have a face on and speak to each other, as now you cannot really hear them properly.
I cut them together all the same but honestly think they will need to be completely re-shot. This is also due to one actress cancelling on me the day of shooting, meaning we had to get another who's first language was not english. She also had to film alone which meant timing was difficult to work out.
I can however put her looking down to read from the page to the fact that, when we use computers to talk, even with webcams, we don't look at eachother, rather we look down at the keyboard to talk. This added something to my film that I had not previously considered.



Leave a Reply.